LIVING OUR QUESTIONS–Are you a holy whore to anything?

Well, it has been some time since I have written. Much family visiting for the summer and it has been wonderful. I recently got in to a discussion about the archtype of the prostitute. As usual, more questions arose than answers. Do we  all have a prostitute within? Is there something anyone of us would whore ourselves for if push came to shove? I cannot speak for anyone else, but I was surprised to find that I have a big one. Mine is the self discovery whore–and she runs my life with a vengence. She drags me here and there with her own demands and I follow like a stray dog looking for some scrap of food to fill my empty belly. I am lured by the new, the surprising, the expansion that is promised for that deeper part of me. I found a wonderful man the second time around who understands this part of me and often even celebrates it. But it wouldn’t matter, because she RULES no matter what. It is a force within that drives so strong and so hard even I stand back at times and wonder ….what the hay? Since it is an archetype, I challenge you to find yours, that thread through out your life that has consisitently lured you, sometimes  in its calling, causing great joy or pain. Usually the painful memory fades as you answer the call again and again, a bit like childbirth–when in the throws of it you are so sure you will never do it again and then you do. This seems like a frivolous question, but look a little deeper, it hold the promise of SELF DISCOVERY. The reason I mention the word holy is because when she takes over with me, she always promises a feeling and sense of WHOLENESS...it feels holy and sacred, both the process and the outcome. Of course it only lasts until she calls again, which is sometimes days, moments or even seconds. Always she calls, I can forever count on that! Be Well.

3 Responses to LIVING OUR QUESTIONS–Are you a holy whore to anything?

  1. Jan says:

    I find that I am a holy whore to approval, wanting others to approve of my actions/decisions. I find that in the last year or so I do this less, but this form of prostituting myself still seeps in.

    • livingourquestions says:

      Wanting approval is natural but not as satisfying if we have to give up being authentic to do it. This is often the case when we get busy trying to figure out just what would give us the approval we are seeking from someone we are trying to please.

  2. Jan Neis says:

    Yes, approval trips everyone up at certain times but always an opportunity for growth an self discovery—the more we know about “us” the less we JUDGE and you are not judgmental, discerning but not judging. I love that about you.

Leave a Reply

